New Books to Check Out In May 2019

Tomorrow’s the first day of May, which means that most of us are ready for a spectacular release of new books.


The only problem is that you might not even know where to start.


But don't fret about it -- we’ve gathered just a few of the hottest books coming out in May.


Becoming Dr. Seuss: Theodor Geisel and the Making of an American Imagination by Brian Jay Jones

Biography/Memoir



We all know Dr. Seuss — but how much do you know about Theodor Geisel?


Geisel is Dr. Seuss’s alter ego, also known as the man behind the writing. Known to have a more “radical” side, this book chronicles Geisel’s successful career with hints of his own personal convictions appearing here and there throughout his books (remember The Lorax?).


The truth is that Geisel was on a mission to teach young people about empathy — but through the fun of rhymes and silly cartoons. And how, exactly, did he do it?


Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane

Fiction





Francis Gleeson and Brian Stanhope are two NYPD rookies assigned to the same Bronx precinct in 1973. They aren’t close friends on the job, but end up living next door to each other outside the city. What goes on behind closed doors in both houses—the loneliness of Francis’s wife, Lena, and the instability of Brian’s wife, Anne, sets the stage for the stunning events to come.


The Important Thing About Margaret Wise Brown by Mac Barnett and Sarah Jacoby

Children’s





A dazzling picture book biography of Margaret Wise Brown, the legendary author of Goodnight Moon, Runaway Bunny, and other children’s classics, that is as fearless and groundbreaking as the icon herself was—from award-winning, bestselling author Mac Barnett and rising star illustrator Sarah Jacoby.


What is important about Margaret Wise Brown?


Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague by David K. Randall

History





For Chinese immigrant Wong Chut King, surviving in San Francisco meant a life in the shadows. His passing on March 6, 1900, would have been unremarkable if a city health officer hadn’t noticed a swollen black lymph node on his groin—a sign of bubonic plague.


Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials rushed to quarantine Chinatown while doctors examined Wong’s tissue for telltale bacteria. If the devastating disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicenter of an outbreak that had already claimed ten million lives worldwide.


The Night Before by Wendy Walker

Romance/Mystery





Laura Lochner has never been lucky in love. She falls too hard and too fast, always choosing the wrong men. Devastated by the end of her last relationship, she fled her Wall Street job and New York City apartment for her sister’s home in the Connecticut suburb where they both grew up. Though still haunted by the tragedy that’s defined her entire life, Laura is determined to take one more chance on love with a man she’s met on an Internet dating site.


The Farm by Joanne Ramos

Science Fiction





Nestled in the Hudson Valley is a sumptuous retreat boasting every amenity: organic meals, private fitness trainers, daily massages—and all of it for free. In fact, you get paid big money—more than you've ever dreamed of—to spend a few seasons in this luxurious locale. The catch? For nine months, you belong to the Farm. You cannot leave the grounds; your every move is monitored.


Orange World and Other Stories by Karen Russell

Fantasy





From the Pulitzer Finalist and universally beloved author of the New York Times bestsellers Swamplandia! and Vampires in the Lemon Grove, a stunning new collection of short fiction that showcases Karen Russell's extraordinary, irresistible gifts of language and imagination.


A Bend in the Stars by Rachel Barenbaum

Historical Fiction





For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.


Blackbird, Vol. 1 by Sam Humphries and Jen Bartel

Graphic Novels





Nina Rodriguez knows a hidden magical world run by ruthless cabals is hiding in Los Angeles. When a giant magic beast kidnaps her sister, Nina must confront her past (and her demons) to get her sister back and reclaim her life.


With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

Young Adult





Ever since she got pregnant freshman year, Emoni Santiago’s life has been about making the tough decisions—doing what has to be done for her daughter and her abuela. The one place she can let all that go is in the kitchen, where she adds a little something magical to everything she cooks, turning her food into straight-up goodness.


Lanny by Max Porter

Fiction





This village belongs to the people who live in it and to the people who lived in it hundreds of years ago. It belongs to England’s mysterious past and its confounding present. But it also belongs to Dead Papa Toothwort, a figure schoolchildren used to draw green and leafy, choked by tendrils growing out of his mouth.


Dead Papa Toothwort is awake. He is listening to this twenty-first-century village, to his English symphony. He is listening, intently, for a mischievous, enchanting boy whose parents have recently made the village their home. Lanny.


If you or anybody you know has something coming out this month, let us know below or on Twitter! We'd love to showcase them.

4 views

© 2018 by Kentbury, LLC. Website design by Socially Adept Solutions.